Daily Archives: January 5, 2011

Day 5 Janathon Update – brief and to the point

First day of bike to work mode.  If I was on my cycle plan it should have been a 40 minute continuous but I subbed my work cycling.  Effectively this was 70 minutes in three sections in very stiff cold wind.  My outward stretch is 3.3 miles across farm tracks on an open prairie, a small section was impassable still due to ice so I had to push but the stretch at the beginning with the wind behind me made all the difference in the world.   Work to town for shopping had the wind crossing me but worst of all was the stretch home. It is the hilliest section, it was dark and freezing rain was falling.  Still I tingled when I reached home.

I definitely need plenty of night cycling practice before the dynamo.

The Stats

Miles 11.31

Speed average 9.7 (down hill in the dark I was v cautious)

 

Twelfth Day of Christmas – Bang, Bang, Bang

My true love has done it again – sent drummers; you’d have thought he’d have learnt the lesson when I put the ear protectors on last year.  But here we are again.  Your challenge today is kitchen percussion.  Take out any pots, pans and containers, wooden spoons, egg whisks – whatever takes your fancy and bash out some rhythms – It’ll make you feel good I promise.

Your Russian Roulette Question for today is:  How many Fou Drummers were there in the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympics and what was the significance of the number?  There is a clip below – count them if you like….

Your game of the day is here

And the final Playlist of the party is here

If you are new to this, a brief explanation.  The #12DCP is a virtual Christmas party.  A post a day will appear on the Grethica.  You respond by way of comments.  Each comment creates an entry into my prize draw, for a money can’t buy prize (because it’s mostly stuff that’s been given away by others).  The Russian Roulette questions are quiz style questions, the comments you leave to those will be posted at the end of the 12 DCP.  However the danger with a Russian roulette quiz is that if you answer a question wrong – all of your answers become null and void.  The good news is though you have time to go back and post answers to previous days, right up to the end of the 12th day.

Finally a huge thank-you to those who have taken part

I’ll be around later to tidy up, publish the roulette answers – give out the final scores and pick a winner.  The final dusting should be completed by Tuesday – I’ll publish the winner on Tuesday at the latest.  You’ve all been magnificent!