Sky blue pink shot with a carrot – #Janathon update 20

This morning I did my 800m test swim session – Session 9 of my taketothestreets plan.  All good, a beautiful full moon shining into the pool as I ploughed up and down.  Once home and out dog walking, I tried to capture the moon setting on camera but missed the moment.  When I turned around though, the sky was full of orange vapour trails.

Can you believe it is day 20 of Janathon already?  It has certainly encouraged me to get up and go when I would otherwise have stayed snug in bed.

Ohh on the detox front – you’ll be pleased to hear the headache has arrived!

Posted on January 20, 2011, in Great East Swim, Janathon, swimming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I can’t get the photo to load 😦

  2. It has loaded for me now. beautiful 🙂

  3. Good luck with the headacheathon — drink plenty of water (but I’m sure you knew that!)

  4. Beautiful photo! Hope the headache has gone now.

  5. Nice photo! I came across this whilst searching for the meaning of the phrase ‘sky blue pink shot with a carrot’. Last night, out of the blue my husband remembered his dad used to say this.
    I found other variants off the same phrase but only you mentioned the carrot!! Perhaps it’s a regional variations? May I ask where you first heard it?

    • I’m from Gloucestershire originally. I am fascinated by regional expressions – What does your husband call black sports shoes of th type that used to be worn for PE?

      • Hubby doesn’t recall calling them anything other than plimsoles. His dad was a North Essex farmer (although born in the Raj returning to England aged 4) – I couldn’t always understand what he said due to the accent – even though it was reasonably moderated!!
        I should add that the country Essex accent is nothing like the North London Essex accent!

  6. I came across this while searching for “Sky blue pink shot with a”, as I couldn’t remember what my late partner used to say. I knew the phrase “Sky blue pink”, but he always added on the “shot with a carrot”. He was Bristol born and bred (he called what I called plimsolls “daps”!) … so I guess it’s a Gloucestershire/Bristol thing … like snow “pitching”.

Leave a comment