Subterranean – Illustration Friday – By George what a fungi

Illustration Friday - Subterranean

The theme for Illustration Friday this week is ‘Subterranean’.  First, if you have Spotify please join me in the playlist to run alongside this post.  For those without Spotify the playlist in words is the first comment.

Every day I walk my dog down the lane where I live, I normally tweet about the weather, I believe I have become some people’s alarm clock.  Being a Jack Russell there is nothing the dog likes more than a good rabbit hole for a bit of a dig. At least I assume they are rabbit holes, I’ve read and seen Alice in Wonderland; who knows what mysteries lie beneath the soil?

My friend @goodshoeday asked me today which seasonal treat I was looking forward to most.   One of the treats for me is the arrival of the St George’s mushroom.  This arrives on St George’s day; but will it this year, with everything so late?

Google streetview has arrived in this distant outpost, do not be concerned by the three-legged lady though.  Gosia of the Over The Moon coffee stall, market square, Framlingham, spotted the triped first and it currently has front page billing at nearthecoast.

It’s all in the picture somewhere.

Posted on March 12, 2010, in food, fungus, Illustration Friday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Playlist in words
    Radiohead – Subterranean Homesick Alien
    Bob Dylan – Subterranean Homesick Blues
    In Flames – Subterranean
    Madrugada – Subterranean Sunlight
    Lars Frederiksen And The Bastards – Subterranean
    Nahemah – Subterranean Airports
    Strung Out – Cult Of The Subterranean
    Marduk – From Subterranean Throne Profound
    Wig Wam – SUBTERRANEAN SUNRISE
    Tystnaden – Subterranean Gates
    Michael Stearns – Subterranean Garden
    The Dilettantes – Subterranean Bazaar
    The Gypsy Nomads – Subterranean Girl
    Eminem – Underground
    Broder Daniel – Underground
    Jamiroquai – Deeper Underground – Remastered for 2006
    The Jam – Going Underground
    Girls Aloud – Sound Of The Underground
    Sneaker Pimps – 6 Underground
    Matmatah – Troglodyte
    The Jimmy Castor Bunch – Troglodyte (Cave Man)
    Busdriver – The Troglodyte Wins
    LiveFastDie – Troglodyte City
    Deep Listening Band – Cave Water
    Deep Listening Band – Quarry Query
    Pierre Palengat – Troglodyte Mignon
    Ben Schachter – The Erudite Troglodyte

  2. A striking illustration. I especially love the very minimal but perfectly representative dog.

    Light bulb on the first level, down to torches and then fire buckets. Obviously, the transmission of technology is slow under ground. 😉

    Good work,
    Samir

Leave a comment