5th Day – Rings and Pledges

The fifth day and the observant amongst you will have noticed that my rings are not all gold. I’m quite excited about the whole 2012 London Olympics; partly due to a sporting eureka moment last year when I discovered that by training for an event I could actually make a huge difference to the way I felt.  However, being British I’m also concerned; will it be safe, will we slate ourselves with ‘they’ couldn’t organise the trains, planes, weather etc, etc, etc you know the way it goes.  More recently I have also been concerned about sport funding in this country, will we manage the build up and the legacy so that everyone young and old can benefit. School swimming, sports fields, access to coaches for a wide variety of sports and access to non competitive but challenging activities such as fell walking are all important for personal well being and social skills.

So my challenge to you today is to make an Olympic pledge, if you live in Suffolk you can learn more here. Not sure if there are similar pledge sites in other counties/countries.  But even if it is to walk a mile a day can you commit to something in the lead up to 2012?

My own pledges?  Well formally I have pledged to do the Great East Swim for two more years – already booked into this years swim.  Adding to that I hope to do the Dunwich Dynamo this year and will be doing the Janathon (exercise and blog every day in January)

The Spotify playlist for today is here

Your warm up game is here

The Russian Roulette Question of the day is:  How many cats were rescued from the 800 acre London Olympic site?

If you are new to this, a brief explanation.  The #12DCP is a virtual Christmas party.  A post a day will appear on the Grethica.  You respond by way of comments.  Each comment creates an entry into my prize draw, for a money can’t buy prize (because it’s mostly stuff that’s been given away by others).  The Russian Roulette questions are quiz style questions, the comments you leave to those will be posted at the end of the 12 DCP.  However the danger with a Russian roulette quiz is that if you answer a question wrong – all of your answers become null and void.  The good news is though you have time to go back and post answers to previous days, right up to the end of the 12th day.

Enjoy – thanks to those that have taken part so far… keep up the good work


Posted on December 29, 2010, in #12DCP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. OK. I shall be honest with you. I was useless at all things sporty at school. I hated it, particularly gym, and hockey. In hockey I always ended up marking a girl called Christine who was very good. If she ran up the field I just waited for her to come back as there was no way I was going to keep up. I can’t swim. I’ve tried, I really have, even with one to one tuition. I like walking and intend to do it more regularly and I have several good books to read when the Olympics are on the tele. Sorry

    • I am so glad I am not the only one to be useless at sports.

      I am sure I have bored you rigid with my telling of the time I did the long jump and didn’t get into the sand..

  2. The answer is 186

  3. Well with the Olympic site only a couple of miles from me (although we aren’t a borough that is hosting any events) I think definitely need to pledge to do something Olympian…. I shall return later with details of the pledge…so right now I’m erm pledging to pledge :S

  4. According to the Celia Hammond Trust who rescued the cats the total was 187 although Blackjack the last cat to be rescued was rather elusive he was finally captured before the truest was no longer allowed access to the site.

    http://www.celiahammond.org/index.php?module=pagemaster&PAGE_user_op=view_page&PAGE_id=34

    Celia Hammond is probably where we are going to get out new kitties from in the New Year (I hope)

  5. Oops i made a typo obv i mean trust not truest in the 3rd line – ddoh!

  6. After much thought my pledge is to do 2012 miles by the Olympics either walking, cycling or swimming in any mix that takes my fancy so long as I do 2012 miles. If I do it on foot that just under 4 miles a day. compared to now thats challenging but not impossible. Wish me luck 🙂

  7. my pledge..

    to not exercise any part of my body other than my voice..

    it’s the best I can do. Could they put yodelling into the Olympics?

  8. Russian Roulette..

    187 cats were rescued from the site by the Celia Hammond trust

    http://www.celiahammond.org/index.php?module=pagemaster&PAGE_user_op=view_page&PAGE_id=34

    How wonderful of them, I do hope they all get rehomed.

  9. Oh dear – now according to my reading of the story the final total was 187 including Blackjack……

    Sorry to one player who can not now win the quiz – but is still in the hat for the rest of the draw:)

  1. Pingback: What’s all this then…. » goodshoeday likes...

Leave a comment