Fourth Day of Christmas – Calling Birds – Or Calling Guys

My beloved is poking fun at me this morning.  After all I know that despite twittering, facebooking, blogging and stuff the one thing I’m not great at is calling.  I find it difficult to sustain telephone conversations.  Was it growing up in the days of telephones on wires in a cold drafty hall, where people walked past and listened ? – or worse went to the ‘other phone’ and listened in!

These days despite my addiction to the iPhone I rarely use it to talk to anyone, signals are patchy out here in bow and arrow country.

My challenge to you today is:  Call someone, perhaps someone put their number in your Christmas Card, is there someone you parted with on uncertain terms or just could do with a good catch up.  Just report back with a comment; how did it go?

Today’s Russian Roulette Question:  – but you might want to warm up with this game first – Who made the first ‘official’ mobile phone network call in the UK?

The playlist for today is here

If you are new to this, a brief explanation.  The #12DCP is a virtual Christmas party.  A post a day will appear on the Grethica.  You respond by way of comments.  Each comment creates an entry into my prize draw, for a money can’t buy prize (because it’s mostly stuff that’s been given away by others).  The Russian Roulette questions are quiz style questions, the comments you leave to those will be posted at the end of the 12 DCP.  However the danger with a Russian roulette quiz is that if you answer a question wrong – all of your answers become null and void.  The good news is though you have time to go back and post answers to previous days, right up to the end of the 12th day.

Enjoy – thanks to those that have taken part so far… keep up the good work


Posted on December 28, 2010, in #12DCP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I hope I haven’t just rolled the barrel round on that gun! Ernie Wise – how bizarre!!

  2. THat was a Wise question. Mind you. one would have needed to have won the premium bonds to have paid for the call.

  3. No chance! I HATE using the phone. I very very very rarely answer the phone. Hate it hate it hate it.

  4. I don’t like the phone much either and I think it would be just about the worst way to get back in touch with someone. Unless you schedule a call like you would a meeting one person is always ‘surprised’ by the call and doesn’t get to respond at their leisure or the have prepared themself for the conversation. i mostly only use the phone with people I know well…..

  5. I’m assuming by ‘official’ you mean the one that was touted/newsworthy as being the first call rather than it was on matters of official business …anyway it was Ernie Wise from St Katherine’s Dock in London using the Vodafone network (or so the BBC tells me)

  6. In part due to signal reception but more due to my working process, I rarely call. I am much more readily available on email & social channels which makes ‘voice calling’ a premium activity. I am glad I’m not the only one Luke that!

  7. it is strange isn’t it, I hate the phone and will go to all sorts of lengths not to pick it up. I have to call my mum as she isn’t mobile or computer savvy, but as she hates phones too, the calls always start out quite stilted. They warm up eventually so all ends up ok.

    I think the rash of Indian call centre calls at about 6 o’clock of an evening don’t help make the phone any more attractive.

  8. and my bullet for today…

    is a mysterious one..

    According to Vodafone’s official site, ( http://www.vodafone.co.uk/vodafone-uk/about-us/company-history/ ) the very first UK mobile phone call was made by Vodafone on 1st January 1985, at a few minutes past midnight. However, elsewhere on their site( http://online.vodafone.co.uk/dispatch/Portal/appmanager/vodafone/wrp?_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=template09&pageID=PAV_0015&tabIndex=3 )it is stated that this was from St Katherine’s Dock to Newbury, which would be the call that Ernie Wise made from St Katherine’s Dock to Vodaphone headquarters – but would he have been about at a few minutes after Midnight? The BBC news story about the 20th birthday of mobile phones in the UK, dating from 2005, has a photograph they say is of Ernie making the call, in broad daylight. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/4138449.stm .

    So who made the call just after midnight? Was it Ernie? Surely Vodaphone would have made a test call first, on the lines of “Watson, please come here…”

    Or did the BBC just grab any picture to hand of Ernie with a phone in his hand and plop it into the story? Which has then been copied and fallen into Urban Mythology?

    So the official story seems to be that Ernie Wise made the first UK mobile call from St Katherine’s Dock to Newbury.

  9. I made a call, it was long overdue and life is good.

  10. I’m old fashioned. I have friends and relatives who I would much rather call on an old fashined land line as once we get going we can talk for an hour or more. There’s a knack to tucking it under your chin so you can carry on cooking or whatever. Mum rings at 8 every morning and sometimes that lasts half an hour, sometimes only a couple of minutes. Guess I just love talking 🙂

  11. The answer is Ernie Wise

  12. A classic trivia question that I’m sure you’ll never forget now. Indeed it was Mr Wise. I can’t believe they didn’t do a test call first though.

    I’m glad I made my call – I still have a couple of others I would like to make before the time and the moment feels like it has passed though. So maybe this weekend I’ll get the address book out and have another go.

Leave a Reply

