11th Day of Christmas and 4th of Janathon – #12DCP

Snowman Christmas tree decoration

The penultimate day, this little guy dangles from a string, but I suspect if I place him on the floor he would fall over.  That’s the trouble with snowmen, no sense of today’s theme:

Balance

This is definitely a sense you don’t know you have until you lose it, sounds even fancier if you all it equilibioception. Having had inner ear problems a few times I know how horrible it feels when the sense of balance goes, clinging to walls like a drunkard takes some explaining. I used to love doing twizzles as a kid though and that feeling of loss of control as you spin to the floor was quite exhilarating. If you like the challenge of impossible looking buildings you could always stay in Suffolk’s balancing barn. Do you have any memories related to balance or possibly the related feeling of motion and acceleration; speeding down the hill into Sudbury as part of the Dynamo is probably my most recent one.

Janathon

I’ll come back and fill this in once I’ve done it.

 

The Spotify Playlist for today is here

Posted on January 4, 2012, in #12DCP, 12 Days of Christmas Party, Janathon. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Balance. Not really had much experience of not having had balance but I’m not keen on heights and in particular don’t like climbing spiral staircases…I feel like I might tumble backwards and roll head over heels all the way to the bottom.

  2. As you will know by now, I became deaf in my 30s, and had an operation in my early 40s to repair the hearing in one ear. The memory of the lack of balance I had after that operation still makes me nauseous. Just sitting up would leave me reeling, clutching the edge of the bed because I was sure I would fall off.

    I have never had good balance though, probably always something wrong with my ears from childhood. On holiday in Cornwall when I was about 8 or 9 I climbed up all the steps at Tintagel castle, only to discover that I had to spend time time up there laying flat on the middle of the area, so that I couldn’t see over the edge. I knew my brother was running free, over the narrow causeway, less than a handsbreadth wide. I was so jealous of his lack of vertigo. It took us a very very long time for me to inch my way back down, one hand on my father’s shoulder, one on the wall, face to the wall, one step at a time.

    Ugh. My stomach is lurching again just at the memory…

    Linda, I feel for you with spiral staircases too… the thought of the one at the Norfolk Chapel in Hindolveston gave me real heebiejeebies, but was surprisingly easy when I actually tried it.

Leave a Reply

