The taming of the (mu)shrew(oom)

Time for a few confessions. A lovely person called Mr Truffle recently ran a creative writing competition; create a piece of writing about ‘how to buy truffles’.  I entered with a piece heavy on double entendre and won!  You can read my entry on Mr Truffle’s pages here, sadly I posted it before I finished editing so there are a few glitches in the last couple of paragraphs – but hey I won and am now the proud owner of 20g of truffles.  But what to do with them…. watch this space.

Second confession – my interest in this topic is not a new one.  Ever since I read, Taming the Truffle  – the history, lore, and science of the Ultimate Mushroom by Ian R Hall et al, I have wanted to plant my own truffiere; who knows, one day, maybe.

 

Posted on March 5, 2011, in food, Foodie/Green/Gardening, fungus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nobody knows the truffle I’ve seen……

  2. Martin Campbell

    If you must quote Shakespeare:
    “you whose pastime is to make midnight mushrooms” – Tempest, Act V, Scene 1

  3. Ooooh you are so clever! There’s a book in you, I just know it. Perhaps a book of short stories? x

Leave a Reply

