The Undersideness of Leaves

If you have Spotify this playlist accompanies this post

Today was a working day for me and not one that I could inject much exercise into for a variety of reasons.  I took the dog for a walk only slightly longer than our regular one, so the most I can claim for Janathon is 1.8 miles.  It was windy and having suggested to @JonMWelch that he go fly a kite (in the nicest possible way) I started to wonder if it was the right kind of wind for kite flying.  Cheerily singing ‘Let’s go fly a kite’ as I walked I felt really upbeat. Then I started to think about my Suffolk 365 Picture of the day – could I capture the wind in a photograph.

The wind was evident; clouds scudding across the sky, grass stems bent nearly horizontal.   I started to think how the wind is like an emotion; you see its impact, the effects created by it, but not he wind itself. With the photograph in mind I realised the main way I could capture the wind was by the effect it was having on the few evergreen leaves on trees and bushes.  You could see their undersides.  Then I started thinking about the word leaf and how the plural is leaves.  English is a curious language, before long leaves had turned in my mind from parts of plants to departures of one kind and another.  By the time I was home I was fixated on the concept of the ‘Undersideness of Leaves’ – here is one take on it.

The Undersideness of Leaves

Shiny cuticle
Protective shell
Outward self

 

Dulled underside
Canker, rust, spot
Hairs that sting

 

Miner, explorer
Consuming, growing
Replete, leaves
Posted on January 16, 2011, in Janathon, poetry, Suffolk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

