Ten Lords – Men Leaping, or Missing and Janathon update

This is the Tenth Day and my love has sent Ten Lords a Leaping.  Another two part post: the first is for the 12 Day’s of Christmas Party; the second is my Janathon write up.

I was fortunate enough to see members of the Osiligi troupe of Masai Warriors when they were touring locally earlier in the year.  They were amazing.  The video below gives some idea of Masai Jumping dance from a different group.  A simple challenge for you today – jump, or leap even just a little bit.  There is a great book called 101 Experiments in the Philosophy of Everyday Life which encourages you to do things like that.  From sitting counting to 1000 to drinking water whilst going to the loo, some are bizarre but they are all thought provoking; I recommend it.

The game of the day is here

The Spotify playlist of the day is here

Your Russian Roulette Question:

Just checking those invitations again.  Did you notice that there are only eight Lord’s wigs?  Two Lords are missing – one was last heard on the roof of Lower Loxley Hall and the other was last seen on or about the 8th November 1974; but who are they?

If you are new to this, a brief explanation.  The #12DCP is a virtual Christmas party.  A post a day will appear on the Grethica.  You respond by way of comments.  Each comment creates an entry into my prize draw, for a money can’t buy prize (because it’s mostly stuff that’s been given away by others).  The Russian Roulette questions are quiz style questions, the comments you leave to those will be posted at the end of the 12 DCP.  However the danger with a Russian roulette quiz is that if you answer a question wrong – all of your answers become null and void.  The good news is though you have time to go back and post answers to previous days, right up to the end of the 12th day.

Enjoy – thanks to those that have taken part so far… keep up the good work

The Janathon Update………

Or rookie mistakes I have made today.  I decided to clean Maud the Claude.  She looks better for it and several layers of dirt and thick oil removed I discovered spaces I never knew existed before. So I went off on my ride – the plan said easy, flat, 55 minutes.  20 minutes in a I realised I was zipping along and would be home too early so I added a little detour to increase the miles.  I thought I had tested all the gears up and down the range but in the middle of climbing back up a Suffolk Hill (ie not very big) the chain slipped off – no mud left to keep it in place I guess, I popped it back on again quite quickly but then the iPhone ran out of charge so my route recording went up the spout.  Never mind I was able to re-plot once home.

The Stats

Machine – Maud the Claude

Distance – 10.1 miles

Time – 55 mins

Average speed – 11 mph

Posted on January 3, 2011, in #12DCP, Janathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I had to double check my guess of Lord Lucan and although I haven’t listened to the Archers for years it was impossible to miss Nigel’s fall from Grace (but that’s a whole other story) or fall from a roof, hadn’t realised he was Lord Nigel though

  2. Oooh, not sure about leaping or jumping, have to watch my poor old back you know. It did take me a while to decide which jumper to put on this morning as I wasn’t sure what would look best on the radio – will that do?

  3. When you said someone had fallen for the clue I had a little think and hunt around and wondered if you meant Tennyson, but that’s Locksley not Lower Loxley. Then I had a bright idea and googled the actor who plays David and guess what, he’s the Earl of Portland!

  4. Now for me the woods may wither, now for me the roof-tree fall. …

  5. Sounds like a busy day – competently putting chains back on too – role on day 4 of #janathon quite enjoying it are you?

  6. David Archer was up on the roof with Nigel when IT happened? Is that what you mean? If not I give up

  7. I leapt up from the computer when I read your challenge, jumped to it I did..

    Not sure what to, mind you, but I did jump..

  8. Another Suffolk Janathoner! There can;t be many of us

  9. Well I have to say I am very unsure about this one.

    So let’s get 8th November 1974 out of the way, this is of course Richard Bingham, aka Lord “Lucky” Lucan, who was last seen on the 7th or 8th (depending on who is reporting) November 1974 after an attack on his wife and the murder of his children’s nanny. No sign of him has been found since.

    The other one is trickier.. Grethic is not known for simplicity of riddles, and this hangs on the interpretation of Lord and the spelling of Loxley..

    For Lower Loxley Hall is the inherited manor house owned by Nigel Pargetter, and the subject of the infamous #sattc Fall (not Leap but I am sure we can allow poetic license here) from the Roof in The Archers. But Nigel is not a Lord.. though he could be said to be Lord of the Manor.

    Had Loxley been spelt Locksley then there would have been a real lord, Alfred, Lord Tennyson, but then again no roof..

    So I am plumping for dear departed Nigel. For better or for worse, I shall grit my teeth, squidge my eyes shut, and pull the trigger….

  10. OK here is my final answer. Lord Lucan went missing on or about the 8th November 1974. In The Archers, David was ON the roof of Lower Loxley Hall when Nigel fell off. David is played by Timothy Bentinck who is the Earl of Portland but is missing because he lost the right to speak in the House of Lords under the reforms brought about by The House of Lords Act 1999 QED

  11. I have been allowed another go before Grethic announces me dead, applies the sharpened stake to my chest to make certain, and removes the last bullet in my trusty revolver.

    I had fallen for the red herring (see above) so a little help-note was added to Twitter.
    “@josordoni @Jaydubblah the correct spelling is Loxley – but who was last heard ON the roof and why are they a missing Lord?”

    I went and listened again to the last episode. Apart from the very impressive “aaaaaaaagggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh” (which I listened to twice.. was Nigel falling down a well?) I heard nothing more than I had before.

    I had got all excited – was there a magpie? That would be a Lord wouldn’t it? After all we are enjoined as children that the world will cave in if we don’t doff our hats, bob our heads and greet the magpies ” Good Morning My Lord”. I listened hard. No birds. Just the soughing of the wind. (flap flap.. agggghhhhhhhh)

    I was despairing.

    But dear Janet came to my rescue and pointed me in the right direction. “Look at David’s Wiki” she said. Once I realised she wasn’t being rude, I went and had a look.

    For I had been thinking Character, and I should have been thinking Real Person. And though the characters were on the roof of Lower Loxley, the voices we HEARD were of the actors. And it is not Nigel we need to look at (aaaaaaaggggggghhhhhhhhh) it is Devilmaycare David.

    And we may call him Timothy Charles Robert Noel Bentinck, 12th Earl of Portland, 8th Count Bentinck und Waldeck Limpurg. Or as his Wiki entry says “usually known as Tim Bentinck”. But he is missing, for although he took his seat in the unreformed House of Lords, Tim did not speak there before losing the right to do so as a result of the House of Lords Act 1999. Apart from a lecture tour of the United States on English Eccentrics, he has not used his title.
    Did you know he invented a brilliant little child seat for mums to carry toddlers on their hips? http://www.bentinck.net/manual/inventions.html It’s not being made unfortunately, H&S worries in our nanny state. But I think it is a brilliant looking thing. Well done Timothy!

    Maybe David could get Ruth to make one?

  12. Hmmm jumping, I’m fond of jumpers (nice stylish wooly ones
    that is) less fond of jumping

  13. Lost lords….

    right well the 1974 missing ord is Lord Lucan

    The other one not so easy…definitely Ambridge and the mad recent 60th anniversary episodes…where Nigel and David where up on the roof. Nigel fell and died so he’s kind of missing but is he a Lord I can’t find anything that says he is…..then lots of tracking back through Josordoni and Jaydubblah’s twitter conversation leads me to think maybe it David…..

    Lots of googling. Lots of googling the series and then the actors then BINGO….David Archer is Tim Bethnick who is the 12th Earl of Portland who although taking up his seat in the Lords never spoke and lost his seat in the House of Lords Reform Act 1999

    This is either horribly wrong or very correct….

  14. For fear of never being forgiven on this one. I have decided to resuscitate Jaydubblah from her incident with the cats. I have never in all my time of setting despicable puzzles known people fight their way through the mire as you guys did on this one. So you are all with us. Despite Nigel’s sad demise it was the loss of @timbentinck from the House of Lords that I was interested in. Well done one and all!!!

Leave a Reply

