The Second Day of Christmas – Sprout Chocolates Anyone?

Hello, excuse me whilst I walk over your sleeping bodies on the floor.  I’ll be round with bacon butties later.

This is the second day of Christmas, my beloved has sent turtle doves and if you scrutinised your invitation you will realise that is the train of thought I am following today.  Here I am picking through the leftovers from yesterday wondering what unusual food combinations I could come up with.  I have some once cooked giblets and a little Christmas pudding so perhaps a mock turtle soup.  If you have a strong stomach you might like to read the wikipaedia article on mock turtle soup – I wonder why it fell out of fashion?

On the topic of unusual food, whilst out to coffee with @josordoni and @flyingchef1 I  bought some Sea Salt Chocolate from Pump Street Bakery @pumstreetbakery– that was gorgeous, made by Rococo Chocolates and sadly I did not treat it with the respect the price tag demanded, it went very quickly. Whilst in Orford I also bought a smoked ham hock from Richardson’s smoke house and made Nigel Slater’s Elephant Stew.  The stew is not made with elephants but ham hocks; so perhaps it is really mock elephant stew. My friend @goodshoeday quite rightly pointed out who wants food that reminds you of eating ellies anyway.  The final thought on the stew was that it was ‘all-right’, but in conversation with @theflyingchef1 we are agreed it needs a little something.  I would a) partially precook the hock in a pressure cooker then b) add some Aspall Premier, the potatoes, carrots etc and maybe some veg that would thicken the sauce more like aubergine or FlyingChefs thoughts were butternut squash and c) would cook the last stage in an oven casserole so it dries out a little more.  The question is with all those changes would it still be elephant stew or would it be mock-mock elephant stew.

Do you have a classic ‘mock’ recipe – one that really works that you could share?

And as a second comment (so I don’t inadvertently publish your answer)  The Russian Roulette question for today; before I ask it you might like to warm up with this game……

Q2  What is the expected lifespan of a turtle-dove?

If you are feeling cruel you might like to make these ‘truffles’

And finally I leave you with Franz Ferdinand

Posted on December 26, 2010, in #12DCP, food, Foodie/Green/Gardening, Suffolk, Suffolk Diet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I scored 390 on my first go at the sprout game. Love the truffles, I so want to do this but am not taking any sertvices over Christmas – would make a good children’s address although could be just as fun with adults. The only mock recipe I know about was the wartime thing with mashed parsnip and banana flavouring but I don’t think it tasted very nice!

  2. According to the BTO the typical life span of a turtle dove is 2 years. You did say average, rather than longest, as other places are saying as long as 20 years

  3. Well, the typical lifepsan is 2 years but there is a maximum recorded age of 11 years 2 months ;)

  4. I can’t lay claim to this recipe but a colleague recently bought this to my attention – Quick Flaky Pastry (Delia’s Complete Cookery Course p565!!) really easy and so more-ish!
    8 oz plain flour, 6 oz block margarine (or butter) and water to bind.
    Freeze the margarine for half an hour, then grate it into the flour – dipping the block in the flour as you go. You end up with a little hill of fat in the middle of the flour which you then chop with a palette knife to resemble crumbs. Mix with enough water to bring together – chill for half an hour and roll out. Makes the very best sausage rolls that I have ever made!! Not sure it’s really flaky pastry but it’s lighter than any shortcrust I know!!

  5. hmmm mock things.. running through my mind, I can’t find anything that is mock, it is all what is supposed to be…

    hmmm..but then…

    chocolate truffles… they are not truffles after all. And if they are tossed in cocoa, they DO look like little black Tuber melanosporum.

    And they are Seriously easy, you weigh equal parts of double cream and high cocoa content dark chocolate, heat the cream (don’t boil it) chop the chocolate and throw it all into the cream. Leave it alone until it is melted, then give a stir. Let it cool to room temperature, then add any flavourings you would like, whip it up to make fluffy truffles, or leave smooth to make smooth ones. Scoop teaspoons out and roll in cocoa, drinking chocolate or icing sugar, and keep in the fridge.

  6. 2nd comment Russian Roulette shooting of self…

    this is tricky. Because I reckon it depends on how many hawks there are in the area.

    According to the British Trust for Ornithology, the longest known age was 11 years 2 months 15 days (set in 1974), but if we are looking for a typical lifespan, it is reckoned to be 2 years.

    Lots of hawks licking their lips around then…

  7. Speaking of turtle doves.. I haven’t seen any around this year at all. So sad, I love their burbling call, but they are really on the decline

  8. Hmmm turtle doves well there seem to be at least two speciae that are referred to as turtle doves.
    The European species that migrates to african (steptopelia turtur) has (according the and average lifespan of 2 years with the maximum recorded being 11 year 2 moths and 15 days (in its natural habitat I think).
    On the other hand there is the species streptopelia risona which seems to be mainly kept in captivity and therefore tends to live about 20 years.
    Regardless of species I’d say life expectancy would be determined by lifestyle.
    So it depends on whether you mean a bird in captivity or in its natural habitat.

  9. Thank you for all the lovely recipes which I will try in the coming months.

    As for the Turtle doves – anything between two years and twenty five seems to cover it – so I’ll let you all through…[must look at wording of questions in the future :ed]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

