Day 2 of Midsummer Maahes – we’ve arrived

Hi, well that was quite a trip wasn’t it. Amazingly there were about 200 of us in that little car. Some of them are quite quiet, but at least no one was sick. I enjoyed the poems, I do hope a few others will learn some because I think people were beginning to tire after my 40th rendition of Jabberwocky no matter how mimsy were the borogroves.

Time for a quick tour round. Here we are in the beautiful county of Grethicshire and this is Chioggia Place, a large country pile; I hope you will like it. Although it seems a little Gothic and does have one or two active but dead, older residents, I promise you it has a heart of gold. There are several rooms of varying size, so you might choose an attic nook or one of the master bedrooms, possibly a dormitory. If you don’t like to stay in a haunted house we have other options, there are teepees, log cabins or for the toughies among you the opportunity to craft your own bivouac in the woods.

A little more about our surroundings. As you will see the grounds are extensive; a walled veg garden, the croquet lawn and then the formal rose garden. The knot garden goes through that little gate at the side into the fruit garden which is followed by the nuttery and I have high hopes of finding truffles there. If you notice the ha-ha beyond you can see a grass track that divides. To the right is the path to the lake, which is fed by the river Farc, the water comes down from Farc Tarn away in the fell. To the left the path leads down to the beach, at low tide a causeway is uncovered and you can walk across to Scribilita island.

There, you have your bearings.  Now why don’t you go and freshen up.  I think its time for a game or two.  Here is your quest for today:

1)  Where would you like to sleep?  I want to be a good host, what one thing would make your overnight stay perfect?

2) We need some games to play, we’ve been in the car a long time.  What would you suggest?  I am about to set up the French cricket.

3) I wandered lonely as a cloud.  Can you find a watery flower connection between the author and an Eye?

I am thrilled with the ideas for food and the music collection that is building, you Spotifiers are great.  Here is the link

If you like there is still time to use the Maahes tag and find the other posts.  Every comment will be entered into a draw for a prize that money can’t buy.  See @josordoni’s comment, she won the Christmas one.

Posted on June 22, 2010, in Maahes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. and don’t you think that will make me not try for this one too…. 🙂

  2. You know what they say; you’ve got to be in it to win it!

  3. Yes Dale…

    and now then.. what have we here..

    My bedroom.. at the back of the house, on the ground floor. There are french doors that open to a sweet brick terrace, old bricks laid in a herringbone pattern, they have eroded corners, the colours are all shades of iron red and lighter orange. It is just big enough for a round cast iron table and two chairs. A bit rocky, but that’s ok, I’ve got the corner of an envelope in my bag, I’ll fold that up and push it under a corner.

    We are overlooking a lovely little cottage garden, with a brick path winding under the hollyhocks , old fashioned blowsy roses, climbing night scented jasmine billows over an arch. Lavender makes little hedges, mixed up with lemon verbena. The scent in the evening is stunning.

    My room is all white, with filmy lawn curtains that blow in the breeze when the doors are open. Huge paintings line the walls, Russell Flint vies with Georgia O’Keeffe for the most erotic image.

    An ensuite bathroom off to one side a French writing desk with fabulous Smythson stationery.

    The bed is massive, at least 6 foot square, so hubby and I can sleep comfortably without touching each other but roll nicely to the middle when touching seems the thing to do. White fine cotton bedding smells of the lavender that has been placed between the sheets in little organza bags. It is so inviting, I shall just take a little nap whilst thinking of the other challenges…

    zzzzzz

  4. b) I have Colditz and Diplomacy in the car.. can we set up the boards in the sitting room?

  5. c) now I wonder if Merlin realised that he would see so far afield ? http://www.merlin.ac.uk/about/layman/merlin.html

    he would have had no problem “gazing with admiration” on the Water Lily if he had been so equipped…http://www.bartleby.com/145/ww757.html

  6. I’d like a teepee please. My special overnight request is a bacon and mushroom roll for breakfast with Lane Farm smoked back bacon please.
    As for games we should definitely play croquet on the lawn.
    Am working on a connection.

  7. Ok watery connection I think is the Great East Swim training at Stradbrooke which seems to have a postal address of Eye

  8. ok back to c) for another try …

    I have found a house called Water Lily, in Neaves Lane, Eye, Suffolk..

    http://prune.it/ziP4

    the Water Lily is of course the eponymous ship in Wordsworth’s poem,

    http://www.bartleby.com/145/ww757.html

    the Eye, well, there is, it would appear, only one Eye in Suffolk . Even if that would make it Siffolk.

  9. The flower is not one with petals, but one that flows. Wordsworth lived at Dove Cottage Eye is on the River Dove.
    I would like to sleep under the stars if you can guarantee it won’t rain please. And summer music has to be the Beach Boys for me!

  10. I can still hear cogs whirring. I am holding off publishing the one right answer I’ve received so far until tea time. Which is also when I’ll post today’s quest. So keep trying, you may be able to dig out the right answer yet.

    An extra clue: I normally tweet a flower of the day. Today it was the lilies on the pond. However I pointed out that in the stile of Magritte this is not a #floweroftheday. It is a pond.

    I hope that helps!

  11. Actually it hasn’t really helped at all because when Magritte writes ‘Ceci n’est pas une pipe’ below the picture of the pipe he is saying this isn’t a pipe it a picture or representation of a pipe rather than an actual pipe. That does tie to this is not a flower of the day its a pond at all….
    So the only connection I can come up with is that there must be a lily pond near Eye that you practised some of your swimming in…..
    Otherwise give up don’t hold off publishing on account of me.

  12. Sorry folks – I feel I should apologise for playing with your logic buttons…

Leave a Reply

