Midsummer Maahes – let’s get this party started!

Let’s get this party started.  I have been inspired to run a summer party, please come along and join in the fun.  Starting today, midsummer and ending with a virtual get together on Saturday, we will build this party, share some thoughts, songs, ideas and more.  There will be puzzles and games.  At the end of the party I will put an entry, for each comment, into my mechanical awesome amazing hydraulic excellent selector  [MAAHES] and draw out a winning comment to receive a prize that money can’t buy.

Let me start by explaining a bit about Maahes, an ancient Egyptian god of war, but also of midsummer; you can learn more about him here.  As well as being a bit of a tough guy, he defends the innocent and is a helper of wise ones; you may find him useful later in the week.

In my last post you should have chosen your outfit for Saturday and decided what food you will bring.  There is still time to go back and add comments.  The more comments the more chances of winning the prize.

It being summer, the party theme is journeys – most of us will either be on a journey by now or have one in our sights for the holiday period.  Possibly you have just returned and wonder how you can capture that feeling of being away whilst retaining the comfort and familiarity of ‘home’.  Even home may not be where you live, but where you would prefer to be.

Enough philosophising, lets start this party with the first quest.  We are starting a long journey I have three questions for you:

1)  On this long journey you have no books.  Is there one poem you can recite by heart?  If not could you commit to learn one? For me I offer up Jabberwocky, I used to be able to recite it, I will re-learn it now for when we meet.

2) Could you add some tracks to the party Spotify playlist please.  The current songs are listed in the first comment.  What would get you up and dancing on a long hot summer evening?

3) As I walked out one midsummer’s morning, what was my name and which village did I leave?

I will publish the posts in the morning, so post away, no one will see your answers until after #okdoggy has been for her walk.

Posted on June 21, 2010, in Maahes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. The playlist so far at 20:10 Monday 21st June

    Waldeck – Midsummer Night Blues
    Korpiklaani – Midsummer Night
    The Brian Setzer Orchestra – Here Comes The Broad (An Adaptation Of Wagner’s “Lohengrin” And Mendelssohn’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”)
    High Speed Dub – Let’s Get This Party Started (Original)
    The Hit Nation – Get the Party Started (World Cup Version)
    Bachelor Party – Let’s Get It Started

    Well its OK for the canapés but not the sort of thing to bop along to is it? Surely you can add some more stimulating numbers?

  2. Are you Laurie from Slad?
    Not sure about the poem. I could probably manage the 23rd Psalm. Would love to be able to recite things from memory, maybe I will learn The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam, now that would be a challenge

  3. 1. Oooooh pomes…well I can probably only offer On the Ning Nang Nong by Spike Milligan I’m afraid. But today, for day only, I can do you a good deal on a traditional Pagan summer solstice blessing if that works?

    “As the Sun spirals its longest dance cleanse us. As nature shows bounty and fertility bless us. Let all things live with loving intent and fulfill their truest destiny.”

    2. Hmm. I will think about it. I’m not very spontaneous about such important matters.

    3. Easy..Laurie Lee and Slad. But I’m much prefer Cider with Rosie or, its much less known sister, Cider with Spud and mine’s a pint of Aspall please.

  4. I don’t know poems but could recite Blackbird by Macca. He read it at Hay Festival so it mist count.

    Music? I’ll add some when I get a mo but it would include fairport convention, van
    Morrison (and it stoned me), robbie Robertson (sonwhere down that crazy river) and defo sone donald fagen!

  5. a) well I shall memorise something by Wendy Cope. I shall learn some of Strugnell’s Haiku, but I shan’t write them out here, as Wendy is furious about copyright breakers printing her poetry all over the net, and I don’t blame her.

    I am still disappointed she didn’t want to be Poet Laureate. You’d think the butt of sherry would have got her…

    b) well if we are dancing, we have to prance around to Dancing Queen don’t we? then I feel that later on, when the light is falling, and the fireflies dancing, we can gently sway to Donna Summer .. “I feel Love” will do it…

    c) I am Laurie Lee, and I’m leaving Slad. No I am not Sad to leave Slad..

  6. 1) I can do Jabberwocky too. If you’ve got that cover, I’ll do the opening Chorus from Henry V, which I love: O for a Muse of Fire.

    2) I’ve added It’s Raining Men, which would not only get me dancing, but singing loudly.

    3) At a guess, your name was Graham and you were leaving Manesty.

  7. We aren’t going short of music for this party here is the list at 10.39 this morning

    Waldeck – Midsummer Night Blues
    Korpiklaani – Midsummer Night
    The Brian Setzer Orchestra – Here Comes The Broad (An Adaptation Of Wagner’s “Lohengrin” And Mendelssohn’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”)
    High Speed Dub – Let’s Get This Party Started (Original)
    The Hit Nation – Get the Party Started (World Cup Version)
    Bachelor Party – Let’s Get It Started
    Olivia Newton-John – Summer Nights
    Percy Grainger – Shepherd’s Hey
    The Wurzels – The Combine Harvester (Brand New Key)
    The Wurzels – I Am A Cider Drinker (Paloma Blanca)
    Spinners – Working My Way Back To You/Forgive Me, Girl
    Bryan Adams – Summer Of ’69
    Don Henley – The Boys Of Summer
    Donna Summer – I Feel Love – Edit
    Propellerheads – Goldfinger (Propellerheads Mix)
    Groove Armada – Never Never Never (Groove Armada Mix)
    Shirley Bassey – Where Do I Beginy (Away Team Mix)
    Jill Scott – A Long Walk
    James – Laid
    Counting Crows – Mr. Jones
    The Killers – Mr. Brightside
    Eagles – Hotel California
    The Kooks – Seaside
    Katrina & The Waves – Walking On Sunshine
    Tom Jones – It’s Not Unusual – 2nd Studio Version
    Happy Mondays – Step On
    New Order – Blue Monday
    MIKA – Grace Kelly
    Pretenders – Brass In Pocket – 2009 Remastered
    Don Henley – The Boys Of Summer
    Barry Manilow – Copacabana (At The Copa) – Long Version
    Terry Jacks – Seasons In The Sun
    Jackson 5 – Blame It On The Boogie
    Van Morrison – Moondance
    Baccara – Yes Sir, I Can Boogie
    Queen – I Want To Break Free (Single Version)
    Boney M. – Sunny
    Jackson 5 – Can You Feel It – Single Edit
    Lynyrd Skynyrd – Free Bird
    Mud – Tiger Feet
    The Stone Roses – Fools Gold
    Baha Men – Who Let The Dogs Out
    Martha & The Muffins – Echo Beach
    MIKA – Grace Kelly
    Scissor Sisters – Comfortably Numb
    The Beautiful South – Perfect 10
    Deep Blue Something – Breakfast At Tiffanys
    The Monkees – I’m A Believer
    The Weather Girls – It’s Raining Men
    The B-52’s – Love Shack
    Space – Female Of The Species
    Andreas Johnson – Glorious
    Carly Simon – In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
    Abba – Dancing Queen
    Carl Douglas – Kung Fu Fighting
    Plan B – She Said

  8. I think we need Wham: Club Tropicana as well pls

    I will recite The Brook

    Obv too late to answer the question ah well….

Leave a Reply

