Bacon-and-eggs on the other hand

Over recent weeks on twitter I have been posting a flower of the day, almost every day there is a new flower to show. Today it was the turn of ‘Bacon-and-eggs’.  The egg yolk yellow flower is preceded by a bacon coloured closed bud, it is a member of the pea family and has numerous local names in different parts of the country.  I decided to go back and take a macro shot to show the detail a bit better.  Not a great photo and yet again I was caught, backside up in the air, whilst crawling around in the grass.  The sights of countryside also include single gloves; I think they are dropped by bin men (sorry, refuse collection officers and technicians) and others.  I feel sorry for the gloves, separated from their partners for life. I have however discovered the website The Glove Shop, which pairs up odd gloves and resells them.  Perhaps the streets are paved with gold after all.   Thinking about the gloves also made me think about the book The Other Hand by Chris Cleave, I can’t tell you what it’s about but I found it a very good read. Just when you think you have understood what is going on the story takes another turn.  A spotify playlist to go with this post is here.

Posted on May 19, 2010, in Books, Hedgerow. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

