Great East Swim – W is for Water Aid – Help!

W for something completely different challenge - please support me raising funds for wateraid

The theme is W on ‘Something Completely Different;’ any shape or size but must be based on a ‘W’ [Spotify playlist here].  I have chosen to create a bookmark,  I seem to have a dozen books on the go at any time.  The idea behind this image is the bottom of the pool when I am swimming.  Last night the sun was bright and low in the sky, there were fantastic golden patterns from the ripples on the surface.  I swim in goggles, as I look ahead the lines of the tiles are clean and clear, but lower in my field of vision, the lines are distorted; the aim is to create a stream of bubbles so that as I turn my head to breathe my body takes in air almost without thinking.

In January when I started my preparation for the Great East Swim, I could not do crawl and had to count to three to remind myself when to breathe.  I also didn’t have my face in the water much.  Now I swim with my face in the water most of the time, and as I learn to relax can take in the patterns, random tile distributions and sounds.  Finally, I can stop counting to three, but have become obsessed with counting the number of strokes to a length.  Still far to many, I am hitting about 18 in a 20 metre pool; I can get down to 11 or less in breast stroke.

I am working my way through the training schedule on the website Take to The Streets.  Today, I completed session 26 a total of 940 metres.  Since starting and logging my walking, cycling and swimming miles I have done 200 miles under my own steam.  I have kept off the weight I lost earlier in the year despite now eating what I was eating before, drinking wine, eating cheese and other lovely things.  I suspect I do self moderate my diet more than I did before though.  I still haven’t launched my self like a great cargo ship into the sea, but I will have to soon.  If you live near Framlingham and know anywhere where I can swim in open fresh water I would be delighted to hear from you.

So now for the plea for help.  I have decided that my charity will be Water Aid; if you are not already familiar with their work take a look.  So many people in the world do not have access to safe, clean, water and sanitation; this is my attempt to show my gratitude for what we have and to put a little back.

I have created a Just Giving Page please visit and donate, it is a very worthwhile cause.

Thank you

Posted on April 4, 2010, in Great East Swim, Something completely different, WaterAid and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The playlist in words….
    David Fonseca – Swim II
    The Notwist – Solo Swim
    Madonna – Swim
    Brand New – Jaws Theme Swimming
    Mum – Faraway Swimming Pool
    Freezepop – Swimming Pool
    Vetiver – Swimming Song
    Japan – The Experience Of Swimming
    Cheap Trick – Year 3000
    Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Relax
    Agnes – Kick Back Relax
    Biffy Clyro – Bubbles
    Cockney Rejects – I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles
    Ray Conniff & The Singers – Tiny Bubbles

  2. Wow well done you, with both the swimming sucesses and the weigh loss…didn’t realise you lived near Fram tho’!

    Great take on our W theme for this week – hope to see you again soon xx

  3. Sheila Jordan

    How super. Love the bookmark and great that you support Water Aid. Lack of clean water is such a problem around the world, and drives so much conflict over scarce resources.

  4. Wow great idea and really does look like pool tiles..

    Thanks for joining us on SCD

    Dawn

  5. I have a fisfull of bookmarks that I have made, like you I nearly always have several books on the go. Hope we are going to be meeting up (with Easternsparkle) for coffee some time and I will give you my donation so they get all the money and don’t pay the fee on mine. A very worthwhile cause. Hope to be picking up again with SCD and IF next week
    Jx

Leave a Reply

